CMI Level 4 Certificate in Multi-Agency Working (QCF)

Multi-agency working is fundamental to the effective operation of the Justice system. However, until now there has been no formal qualification in multi-agency working which accredits skills in this area. Skills for Justice and CMI have developed a qualification for those who work in a multi-agency environment either at an operational or strategic level.

This qualification has been developed in such as way as to not be exclusive to other agencies, for example social services, who may wish to accredit their skills in this area. As a result the scope and market of this qualification is far wider than the employees of the Justice and Community Safety sector.

Typical units:

  • Develop personal performance and maintain working relationships
  • Engage with other agencies towards developing networks aimed at identifying those at risk of offending
  • Manage a programme of complimentary projects
  • Establish and manage links with wider communities
  • Develop proposals to meet external tendering requirements
  • Specify, commission and manage external contracts and agreements
  • Coordinate programmes involving several agencies

Assessment is normally via a portfolio of evidence, assessed by your Approved Centre. This ensures you minimise time away from work and that you undertake work study which is relevant to your own organisation’s context.



On successful completion of a Level 4 Certificate in Multi-Agency Working, a number of progression opportunities become available:

  • Enhance your professional status by upgrading your CMI membership
  • Progress to other qualifications at the next level (e.g. from Level 4 Certificate to Level 5 Certificate)
  • Apply to become a Chartered Manager.


For more information please see the Centre Assessment Guidance or, alternatively, the Qualification Factsheet.