Gold Medal Award

Gold Medal Award 2014 home page

Nominations are now open

Nominate your inspiring leader for the CMI 2017 Gold Medal - the Institute's most prestigious accolade. Nominees will be exceptional UK business leaders at the pinnacle of their career in any sector; private, public or voluntary. 

Nominees should excel in the following areas: 

  • Guiding strategic direction
  • Developing organisational culture
  • Practising 'human' skills
  • Leading effective implementation

Who can win?

The Gold Medal has been awarded by the CMI for over 35 years and is open to all nominees whether CMI members or not.

Sir Charlie Mayfield - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2016

2016 Winner

“The award of the 2016 Gold Medal is made to Sir Charlie Mayfield, Executive Chairman of John Lewis plc for his inspiring leadership which has driven up performance in the company, in conjunction with developing its brand, online strategy and of course its partnership model of engagement with staff.”

Previous Gold Medal Award winners include:

Jimmy Wales - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2015

2015 Winner

Jimmy Wales

Paul Polman - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2014

2014 Winner

Paul Polman

Carolyn McCall - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2013

2013 Winner

Carolyn McCall
easyJet plc

Sir John Armitt - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2012

2012 Winner

Sir John Armitt
Olympic Delivery Authority 

Dame Fiona Reynolds - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2011

2011 Winner

Dame Fiona Reynolds
National Trust

Lord Tony Hall - Gold Medal Inspiring Leader Award 2010

2010 Winner

Lord Tony Hall
Royal Opera House

What's in it for them?

The Winner will receive the Gold Medal in the Spring of 2018.

Furthermore, articles will be published in the CMI magazine Professional Manager, along with Press releases celebrating the award of the medal. An opportunity to speak at the Annual President's Lecture will also be available.

How do I nominate?

Please follow the link at the top right of the page to make your nomination (closing date 30 June 2017).

Please note: It is important that the nomination is made without the nominee being made aware. As the CMI receives many high quality nominations each year, please complete the form as fully as possible.

If you have any queries regarding the above, please contact: