ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING



Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

held on Thursday 14 October 2010 at 8.30am at the Royal Garden Hotel, 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT

PRESENT:

Sir David Howard CCMI, President (Chairman) Mr Terry Morgan CBE CCMI (President Elect) Ruth Spellman OBE CCMI, Chief Executive

17 Corporate Members

Introduction and quorum

- 1. Sir David Howard, President of the Institute, welcomed members to the meeting.
- 2. He confirmed that a quorum of seven Corporate Members was present.

Apologies

3. Apologies were formally recorded from John Burgess and Robert Stheeman.

Notice of meeting

4. The notice of the meeting was taken as read.

Minutes of Annual General Meeting held on 23 September 2009

5. The minutes of the Annual General Meeting on 23 September 2009 were received and noted.

Overview of achievement

- 6. Ruth Spellman highlighted the following areas of achievement for the CMI in 2010:
 - The public profile of the CMI had been raised, and for the first time the CMI was amongst the top 500 brands in the UK. Its position in the list was number 395.
 - On-line media and web 2.0 communications were being embraced by the CMI, with wider access to online products and services.
 - Membership recruitment and retention had been an area of particular focus, and a net increase in fee paying members had been achieved in 2009/10 for the first time in 8 years.
 - The CMI had been re-structured, with particular focus on an integrated sales and business development team. The need for a reduced staff headcount had been sensitively handled. Investment in core systems would aid the business relationship and engagement with customers.

Reports and Financial Statements of the Institute for the year ended 31 March 2010

- 7. Peter Lewis of BDO LLP read to the meeting the abbreviated report of the Auditors on the financial statements of the Institute for the year to 31 March 2010.
- 8. Ian MacEachern proposed, and Dr Chris Clark seconded, the Resolution:

THAT the Financial Statements of the Institute and the Report of the Board and the Auditors thereof in respect of the year ended 31 March 2010 be received, considered and adopted.

9. It was reported that a number of queries on the annual report and accounts had been raised by members in advance of the meeting and been responded to. The Resolution was then put to the meeting and carried unanimously.

Re-appointment of auditors

10. Dr Derek Little proposed, and Judy Craske seconded, the Resolution:

THAT BDO LLP be re-appointed as Auditors of the Institute, to hold office from the conclusion of the meeting until the conclusion of the next Annual General Meeting, and that the Board be authorised to fix their remuneration.

11. The Resolution was put to the meeting and carried unanimously.

Results of elections to the Board

- 12. The President explained that there were a total of six elected seats on the Board, two being subject to election each year. The election had been contested by ballot and scrutinised by Opt2vote Ltd and the members duly elected to the Board were Philippa Williamson and John Burgess.
- 13. The President congratulated the successful candidates and expressed thanks to all nominees who had put their names forward.

Presentation to Board member

14. The President acknowledged the contribution of Dr Chris Clark, who was stepping down from the Board of Trustees after today's meeting. A presentation was then made to Dr Clark by the President on behalf of the Institute.

Concluding Remarks

- 15. The President informed the meeting that this was the end of his two year term of office. He then thanked the Immediate Past President, Sir John Sunderland, for his support both on the Board and, in the past year, as Chair of Nominations Committee. Ruth Spellman, the Director Team and Valerie Hamill were also thanked for their support during his service as President.
- 16. He then invited the incoming President to address the meeting. Terry Morgan, taking on the Presidency for a two year term, highlighted that this was a period of change and opportunity and that he was looking forward to making a full contribution to the CMI, building on the successors of his predecessor.
- 17. The President then drew the formal meeting to a close and thanked members for their attendance.

Corporate Members present:

Colin Bell Dr Chris Clark* Steven Donnison Dr Derek Little* Joseph Martin Phillippa Williamson Adrian Brigden Robert Coates Jennifer Douglas-Todd Gavin MacPherson Roger McBroom John Wright Joseph Cartier Judy Craske* Glynn Hookings Ian MacEachern* Paul Treadaway

* Trustee of the Institute

In Attendance Peter Lewis, BDO LLP

Executive team

Matthew Beavan, Committee Secretary Valerie Hamill, Institute Secretary Alan Campbell Simon Dolph Huw Hilditch-Roberts Simon Newlyn Narinder Uppal Jo Whitbourn Tricia Williamson Petra Wilton