CMI Awards of Excellence

Apprentice of the Year

Celebrating volunteering excellence amongst the CMI community

What is Apprentice of the Year Award?

Management apprentices are making a positive difference to workplaces all around the world. This award celebrates outstanding apprentices who are committed to developing themselves and making an impact in their organisation. We are looking to recognise apprentices who are learning on the job, showing real-world impact from their learning and fostering innovation in their workplaces.

Nominations Process

Will Burchell Winner 2023

Best in class

Showcase and celebrate the achievements of your apprentices.


Motivation and Reward

Being nominated for the awards is a huge achievement, celebrating hard work and positive impact.



Our prestigious judging panel will review and determine who is exemplifying best practice and the highest standards the profession can offer.



The CMI Awards are globally recognised, so look great on a person’s CV.

Start your nomination

How to apply

The CMI Apprentice of the Year is awarded to an individual who is recognised for their outstanding achievements where they are making a positive impact on their course, in the workplace, or other management and leadership settings to advance themselves, their organisation and the community around them. This award is not open for self nomination.



We’re looking for role models of management improvement. Nominees will need to show a commitment to personal and professional development; outstanding course achievements; and that they’re making a positive impact on their course, workplace, and the community around them.

Nomination Guidance & Criteria

Key Links

Here you’ll find the key pieces of information that you’ll need when submitting your nomination.

Award Process

The Awards process goes through multiple phases to determine our shortlist, longlist and winners. Each stage of the process is supported by our experienced judges against a set criteria.


The CMI Awards receive entries from a diverse range of organisations and individuals across various sectors and fields. To ensure that our judges are able to reflect this diversity, we carefully select individuals who are experts in their respective fields and have a wealth of experience.

Meet the Judges


Nominations open

12th April 2024

Nominations close

5th July 2024

Shortlist announced

19th August 2024

Winner announced

Autumn 2024