CMI Awards of Excellence

Chartered Manager of the Year

Celebrating volunteering excellence amongst the CMI community

What is the Chartered Manager of the Year Award?

The Chartered Manager of the Year Award is an accolade that celebrates excellence in professional development. It recognises individuals who have made significant progress in their careers and consistently demonstrate a dedication to improving their skills and abilities.

In 2023/24 CMI research has shown the positive difference that great management and leadership makes – to organisations, teams and the world around them. This award recognises the individuals who embody those skills.

Nominations Process

Jennifer Baines Winner 2023

Celebrate success

Showcase and celebrate your achievements and the positive impact you are making.


Honour your hard work

The CMI Awards provide an opportunity to reflect on your hard work and CPD as a Chartered Manager.


Gain prestigious recognition

Join a prestigious group of professionals and receive recognition from a highly respected judging panel.


Boost your career

Receiving a globally recognised award will set you apart from your peers and open up new opportunities for career growth.

Start your nomination

How to apply

To apply for the Chartered Manager of the Year Award, all you have to do is fill out the nomination form. You can nominate yourself or someone else who you feel deserves recognition for their exceptional management and leadership skills and a commitment to personal and professional development.



We’re looking for role models for exceptional management and leadership. Candidates will need to evidence their positive impact in a number of key areas, as well as a commitment to personal and professional development.

Nomination Guidance & Criteria

Key Links

Here are your key links where you can find additional information and frequently asked questions to support your nomination.

Award Process

The Awards process goes through multiple phases to determine our shortlist, longlist and winners. Each stage of the process is supported by our experienced judges who are selected for their expertise in their respective fields.


The CMI Awards receive entries from a diverse range of organisations and individuals across various sectors and fields. To ensure that our judges are able to reflect this diversity, we carefully select individuals who are experts in their respective fields and have a wealth of experience.

Meet the Judges


Nominations open

12th April 2024

Nominations close

5th July 2024

Shortlist announced

19th August 2024

Winner announced

Autumn 2024