Management Book of the Year

Celebrating the best Management and Leadership literature

What is the Management Book of the Year Award?

Whether you're a new manager looking for some expert guidance, or a seasoned CEO looking for innovative new ways to lead your organisation into a successful future - our Management Book of the Year competition is sure to inspire.

Are you an author? Entering the Management Book of the Year Award is a great way to gain exposure and recognition for your work.

indigo-magenta best in class

Best in class

Showcase and celebrate your achievements

indigo-magenta motivation and reward

Motivation and Reward

Being nominated for the CMI Awards is a huge achievement in itself, celebrating hard work and the impact being made

indigo-magenta judges


Our prestigious judging panel will review and determine who is exemplifying best practice and the highest standards the profession can offer

indigo-magenta recognition


The CMI Awards are globally recognised, offering great exposure with our global community

How to apply

The competition is looking to recognise books that deliver a compelling, enjoyable, insightful read on an issue, or issues, directly related to the changing backdrop against which management and leadership exists and operates. For the overall winner, we will look for a book that offers original and valuable insights into how management and leadership acknowledges the barriers that remain to create fair, inclusive workplaces.

Rules and regulations

Sounds interesting?

Nominating a book for the Management Book of the Year is easy. Simply fill in the application form using the link below and submit your entry to our awards team before the deadline. Then keep an eye out for the longlist being announced on the 23rd May 2022.

Make a nomination

Awards Timeline

Competition open: Nominations now open

  • Competition opens 11th Nov 2021
  • Competition closes 3rd Mar 2022
  • Longlist announced 23rd May 2022
  • Shortlist announced 25th Jun 2022
  • Winner announced Nov 2022

Meet the judges

Entries for the CMI Awards come from a wide range of organisations and individuals across a variety of sectors and fields therefore, we select our judges to be able to reflect this experience. The Management Book of the Year judges are hand-picked and are all senior experts in their fields

Steve Acklam

Chair, Carer Council & Methodist Regional Working Group
Delroy Beverley

Non-Executive Director and Trustee on the Board of The British Library and Ofqual
Dr Thesara Jayawardane

Head of Dept of Industrial Management, University of Moratuwa
Dilshad Sheikh

Dean of the Faculty of Business, Arden University
Taranjeet Singh CMgr FCMI, Chair
Taranjeet Singh

Chair, CMI Malaysia
Denise Skinner
Prof Denise Skinner

Independent Consultant
Phil Spence

COO, British Library
Dr Jean-Anne Stewart
Professor of Leadership Development, Henley Business School