CMI Sri Lanka AGM

20th AGM held virtually

The 20th AGM of the Chartered Management Institute’s Sri Lanka Branch was conducted virtually on 17th June 2021, adhering to the health and safety regulations issued by the Government of Sri Lanka in the aftermath of the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. The session was hosted live for its companion members, general members, past presidents, students and invitees.

It was a great honour to also have Mr. Taranjeet Singh, chair of the Regional Board CMI Malaysia, Dr Paulina Chan, chair of the Regional Board CMI Hong Kong and Mr. Jamil Karkach, regional manager of the CMI Chartered Management Institute UK present at the 20th AGM.

The chief guest for the evening was Ann Francke OBE, the Chief Executive Officer of CMI UK. Speaking at the event she stated: “in this most unusual of years where management and leadership have been more important than ever before, I think the mission of CMI, which we all share globally, of turning accidental managers into conscious leaders has been made more important than ever before in this pandemic, and I thank you for all of your efforts in helping us achieve this mission.”

Another memorable moment was the recognition of Dr. Dileepa de Silva for the completion of 25 years of membership. Dr. Dileepa de Silva is an IT Management Consultant who has 39 years of experience in the field of Information Communication Technology and Engineering; he was previously chairman of the British Computer Society, Sri Lanka Section, the also held the position of President for Sri Lanka Association for Software Industries and was also chairman of Asia Pacific ICT Alliance (APICTA). He has served as an expert/consultant in the area of ICT in public and private sector organisations and committees domestically as well as abroad.

Mr. Indhra Kaushal Rajapaksa was unanimously elected for the second year as the president of the CMI Sri Lanka Branch. Addressing the AGM as the President for the second term, Kaushal said: “confronting the ‘New Abnormal’ is about creating a better tomorrow. It is about learning from the experiences of the crisis we are dealing with right now, not so that we come out the other side having or even searching for the right answers, but in knowing that the future will be shaped by embracing the uncertainty that is inherent in change, and getting comfortable enough with our own discomfort to instead seek the right questions. I remain committed to the growth of this remarkable organisation – the Chartered Management Institute– and look forward to contributing to its continuity and growth.” The newly appointed first vice president, Professor Ajantha Dharmasiri, thanked the past president, Mr. Murali Prakash, for his guidance and support and also the outgoing executive committee members for their collective contribution.

The newly elected president warmly welcomed the incoming office-bearers who readily accepted their positions, and stated that he looks forward to working with them to pursue the achievement of CMI’s strategic objectives.

The newly appointed executive committee members of the CMI Sri Lanka Branch consist of:

  • President: Indra Kaushal Rajapaksa FCMI
  • First Vice President: Professor Ajantha Dharmasiri CMgr FCMI
  • Second Vice President: Rohitha Amarapala FCMI
  • Treasurer: Chaminda Ediriwickrema FCMI
  • Secretary: Kamaya Perera FCMI
  • Assistant Secretary: Rishantha Mendis MCMI
  • Assistant Treasurer: Ninesh Amirthiah FCMI
  • Committee members: Chaminda De Silva CMgr FCMI, Nirmalan Nagendra FCMI, Chaya Ranaweera MCMI, Dr. Lewie Diasz FCMI, Dr. Thesara Jayawardane CMgr FCMI, Graeme La Brooy FCMI and Niroshan Peiris MCMI.