Level 2 Diploma in Team Leading - (Combined)

Qualification information



The CMI Level 2 Diploma in Team Leading, (QAN: 601/3795/2) is a combined qualification that is made up of both knowledge and competence units. It replaces the Level 2 NVQ in Team Leading.

This is a vocational qualification that has been developed with the help of employers and is based directly on the National Occupational Standards, which means learners are gaining the kind of skills that employers are looking for.

Please note: The above bears no relation to the CMI Level 2 Diploma in Team Leading (QAN: 601/0500/8. CMI Code: 2D1V1)

Qualification Purpose

This qualification is for new or aspiring team leaders to support the development of their knowledge and competence in leading a team, making sure that the team’s work achieves organisational objectives, and contributes to. Achievement of the qualification confirms competence in an occupational role to the standards required. Learners will develop their planning, problem-solving and decision-making skills and gain the knowledge and confidence to lead, organise and motivate a team.

Typical units include:

  • Manage Personal and Professional Development
  • Manage Team Performance
  • Principles of Leadership and Management
  • Principles of People Management
  • Principles of Business

This qualification could lead to employment in the following job roles:

  • Team leader
  • Section leader
  • Floor manager
  • Helpdesk manager
  • Trainee supervisor
  • Team co-ordinator


Assessment will vary according to the type of unit. Knowledge units are usually assessed via practical work-based assignments provided by your Approved Centre. This ensures you minimise time away from work and that you undertake work study which is relevant to your own organisation’s context.


The CMI Level 2 Diploma in Team Leading can be studied as a standalone qualification, or as part of the Level 2 Intermediate Level Apprenticeship in Team Leading (England) or the Level 2 Foundation Apprenticeship in Team Leading (Wales). It provides the opportunity for progression to other qualifications at higher levels, such as the CMI Level 3 Diploma in Management or the CMI Level 3 Diploma in First Line Management.

Information Documents

Click here to access the syllabus Click here to access the fact sheet Click here to access the SFA Purpose Statement