These are the management books you need to read in 2019

27 November 2018 -


CMI has announced the shortlist for Management Book of the Year

CMI Insights

The long-awaited shortlist for Management Book of the Year 2019 has been announced after a detailed review of 160 entries. The annual non-fiction competition recognises the best books for new and experienced managers and is organised by the CMI in partnership with the British Library.

Books from four different categories will receive awards from the judging panel, making the competition an ideal reference point for business leaders who are looking to revamp their professional reading lists for the New Year. Judges are looking for entries that offer valuable insights on the following themes:

Innovation and Entrepreneurship

Awarded to the entry that best inspires innovation, encourages business or product development, or supports organisational development and adaptability.

Practical Manager

Awarded to the entry that offers the best practical and accessible insights or guidance to help inspire managers in their work or professional development.

Management Futures

Awarded to the entry that offers valuable insights into the future of management and the world of work, providing managers with the skills or knowledge to prepare them for change.

Aspiring Leader

Awarded to the entry that is most useful to new managers or those with management ambitions in accelerating their skills development and providing inspiration.


From the four category winners, one book will be named the overall winner and become Management Book of the Year 2019. The prestigious honour will see the author receive a cash prize of £5,000.

In 2018, Manager’s Handbook: The 17 Skills Leaders Need to Stand Out was named Management Book of the Year. “What made the winning book in the New Manager category stand out for the judges is that it has plenty to teach everyone,” said Madeleine Harvey from Pentland Brands, who presented the award.

All results for Management Book of the Year 2019 will be announced at the CMI President’s Dinner on 15 May 2019. The MBOTY awards are sponsored by Henley Business School.

Here is the full shortlist for Management Book the Year 2019

Powered by Professional Manager